McGregor starts Marine Series with a bang

Hank McGregor made good on his promise to start the 2019 Marine Surfski Series with a bang by delivering a command performance winning the 8km Season Starter in benign ocean conditions on Friday night.

Showing impressive base form as he prepares for the N3TC Drak Challenge and FNB Dusi season the Fenn Kayaks/Euro Steel star romped home more than a minute clear of the evergreen Matt Bouman, with Gene Prato making up the balance of the overall podium a further minute back.

“It is great to take a win against a good competitive field, with the likes of Matt Bouman, Gene Prato and Wade Krieger always making the racing interesting in Durban ,” said McGregor.

“The conditions were fantastic,” he enthused. “I don’t Durban could have produced a batter evening for the first race.

“I was stoked to take the win and I hope I can keep this shape and performance for the rest of the series,” he added.

In the women’s race Jenna Ward revealed how much training she has been doing over the holiday season by posting an impressive win over Michele Burn and Kyeta Purchase.

“It was a great way to start the year’s racing with a win,” said Euro Steel team racer Ward.

“I got away well with Michele (Burn) and Kyeta (Purchase) on the first North East lap, and on the second lap, after trying to catch some bumps I got a little bit of a lead and managed to hold onto it.

“I was really excited to be back racing on the sea, and it was good to get the racing nerves out of the way before the 50 Miler on the weekend.

“I think it is going to  be a very competitive year for women’s paddling,” she added.

Brett and Cyndi Hadiaris won the doubles race from Gavin Searle and Grant Smith and the father-and-son crew of Copper and Josh Simpkins.

The event was supported by a big field of paddlers, entrenching the popularity of the summer Friday evening series.

1 Hank McGregor 0:24:42
2 Matthew Bouman 0:25:08
3 Gene Prato 0:26:25
4 Steve Woods 0:26:34
4 Lance Wyly 0:26:34
5 Matthew Fenn 0:26:39
6 Tyron Maher 0:26:49
7 Hamish Lovemore 0:27:16
8 Hamish Mackenzie 0:27:19
9 Lee McGregor 0:27:21
10 Brendon Delport 0:27:44

1 Jenna Ward 0:30:25
2 Michelle Burn 0:30:41
3 Kyeta Purchase 0:31:09
4 Cara Waud 0:34:06
5 Alice Edward 0:34:49

1 Brett Hadiaris/Cyndi-Mae Hadiaris 0:25:40
2 Gavin Searle/Grant Smith 0:27:09
3 Colin Simpkins/Joshua Simpkins 0:27:18
4 Nic Burden/Colin Burden 0:27:59
5 Skye Prato/Don Gobey 0:28:11
6 Claudio Manfron/Craig Bruton 0:28:36
7 Steve Evans/Nigel Oxenham 0:29:13
8 Warren Valentine/Reece Valentine 0:29:43
9 Danica Bartho/Donna Winter 0:30:00 (1st Women’s S2)

1 Matthew Swemmer 0:21:43
2 Brendon Germaine 0:24:28
3 Jackie De Billot 0:24:53
4 Karisa Grace 0:26:56
5 Jeanne Grace 0:27:02
6 Alan Marnitz 0:31:11

1 Shaun Burgin/Paige Dennison 0:16:14
2 Sean Uys/Daniel Uys 0:16:46
3 Sabina Lawrie And Daniel Lawrie 0:17:04
4 Justin Swart/James Swart 0:17:07
5 Bruce Pender-Smith 0:17:08
6 Lungelo Shange 0:17:19
7 Ntombela Minenhle 0:17:20
8 Simon Grolt/Chiristopher Grolt 0:17:24
9 Greg Worthington/Natascha Chitlenden 0:17:26
10 Scott Wilkinson/Travis Wilkinson 0:17:38

The second race of the Marine Surfski Series is this Friday 18 January.

Updated: January 12, 2019 — 1:02 pm
© Marine SLC 2021