Durban surf shows off for race eight of Marine Series


Another marvellous evening of conditions for the Gara Surfski Challenge, race eight of the 2019 Marine Surfski Series, just reiterated Durban’s home at the top of surfski paddling in the country as Matt Bouman and Kyeta Purchase took their second and fourth wins respectively.

A light South Westerly wind was on the menu for the third to last race of another successful edition of the Marine Series and conditions once again were conducive for the introduction of youngsters to the sport of ocean racing.

“It was another typical Friday afternoon on the east coast of South Africa. Weather was perfect and the ocean was sublime,” race winner Matthew Bouman said.

“There was another nice competitor turn out for the race and it really is particularly rewarding to see all the kids teaming up with their dads in double Ski’s.”

The Funky Pants Family Feud has become a popular element of the 2019 series and the initiative were parents are encouraged to paddle with their children has meant that a whole new generation are taking to the water.

The front of the ladies race was where all the drama took place as series leader Kyeta Purchase and Michelle Burn were fighting it out for the race honours.

Unfortunately for Burn on the second lap she snapped her rudder cable which meant that she had to withdraw from the race and it handed Purchase her fourth win of the series.

In the men’s race, SMG’s Matt Bouman took home his second singles win of the series and with two races having been cancelled earlier in the series it is likely that only eight results will count towards their overall series position.

“The racing was fast, as it always is,” Bouman added. “Wade Krieger, Gene Prato & I were together for the first kilometre but gaps developed after we turned the first buoy and headed towards North Beach, in the direction of the moving swell.

“I was fortunate to get a little gap over them and enjoyed a time trial home.

“Gene managed to get away from Wade at some point too.

“The doubles race looked fun as five boats were still together approaching the final buoy.”

As Bouman mentioned the doubles race was whittled down to a two-boat sprint for the line. The exciting end sprint was between Colin and Josh Simpkins and Quinton Rutherford and race sponsor Ken Holden.

Coming onto the beach it was neck and neck and it was the latter pair of Rutherford and Holden who held on to a slight advantage to take the win by just three seconds.

The doubles dominated the short course once again with John Edmonds and Grace Maitin-Casalis finishing the race first just a few seconds ahead of Lance and Gabi Howarth in second place while it was Jason Ekstrand and Natalie Jay in third.

Matt Maroun finished first in the singles, and third overall, over a minute ahead of Travis Misdorp in second and Simon Grout in third.

SUMMARY OF RESULTS – Gara Surfski Challenge – Race Eight of Marine Surfski Series

1.Matt Bouman 34:30
2.Gene Prato 35:58
3.Wade Krieger 36:57
4.Brendon Delport 38:16
5.Richard Lowe 38:27
6.Matt Gunning 38:34
7.Andrew Neal 38:37
8.Michel de Rauville 38:40
9.Rowan Matthews 38:46
10.Steve Cohen 38:49

1.Kyeta Purchase 39:43
2.Jenna Ward/Sharon Holden 40:47
3.Lyn Bennett 43:43

1.Quinton Rutherford/Ken Holden 36:52
2.Colin Simpkins/Joshua Simpkins 36:55
3.Dave Harker/Justin Swart 37:05
4.Neil Evans/Johan Terblanche 37:35
5.Skye Prato/Don Gobey 38:38
6.Gary Waud/Cara Waud 39:12
7.Allan Hall/Geoffrey Thompson 39:41
8.Duncan Cartwright/Tracey Nuss 39:49
9.Lance Wyly/Jacqui Boyd 39:55
10.Ian Marias/Teneal Marais 39:59

1.Grace Maitin-Casalis/John Edmonds 20:38
2.Lance Howarth/Gabi Howarth 20:43
3.Jason Ekstrand/Natalie Jay 21:14
4.Reynard Van Antwerpen/Kendra Robinson 21:16
5.Shaun Burgin/Paige Dennison 21:24
6.Malcolm Pitt/Kaiden Pitt 21:58
7.Bruce Pender-Smith/Sarah-Anne Pender-Smith 22:00
8.Grant Smith/Christina Smith 22:40
9.Bradley Allen/Connor Allen 22:48
10.Bruce Glenday/Di Glenday 23:24

1.Matt Maroun 20:45
2.Travis Misdorp 21:55
3.Simon Grout 22:03
4.Michael Walsh 22:17
5.Conna Steadman 22:58

1.Jon Ivins 12:30

Marine Surfski Series 2019 Calendar:
Race 9 – 8 March – HiQ Surfski Challenge
Race 10 – 15 March – Race 10

Updated: March 2, 2019 — 8:10 am
© Marine SLC 2022